Insipid Observations

Ramblings of a bored writer

It was a dark and stormy night

Whether lying in the bed, taking a test in school, eating lunch or walking the dog, for years I’ve been concocting stories in my head. Until last year, writing them down never occurred to me.

It was a dark and stormy night…hooray for a cliché beginning, but that truly is where it all began. As Dr. Seuss so elegantly put it:

“Too wet to go out
And too cold to play ball.
So we sat in the house.
We did nothing at all.
So all we could do was to
Sit!
Sit!
Sit!
Sit!
And we did not like it.
Not one little bit.”

 

We being myself and the little voice I’ve come to know as my muse.  So what did we decide to do? Write!

For the first time in my adult life, I willingly picked up a pen and wrote for the hell of it. I didn’t stop until the next morning. With my hand in jeopardy of falling off, I switched over to my laptop and for twenty-three days, my only focus was writing.

I researched, plotted and ran some ideas by my family. At the end of my self induced reclusion, I was proud to find I had written approximately 36,401 words. I was amazed, invigorated, ready to write more… then I hit a rut and left my manuscript untouched for more than six months.

In truth, I’m reluctant to call it a manuscript. It was more like the ramblings of a noob that knew absolutely nothing about writing or how to tell a story. After six months of reading and reflection, I went back to look at what I’d written. It was complete crap!

I ended up throwing out about 60% of it. I wasn’t let down. I was devastated. For a little while, I considered not continuing. After all, at that time, I was only writing for myself. I had no grandiose ideas of publication. My highest ambition was to post my story (I didn’t even consider it a novel) on a free website for others to hopefully enjoy.

That’s when I discovered the lovely site, Scribophile. It’s a wonderful community of both published and unpublished authors who support one another and give quality critiques of each others works. I sincerely suggest it to anyone wanting to hone their writing skills.

Not only has it helped me along as a writer, it’s inspired to me to aim for publication. Yes. To all the people I’ve told I have no intention of publishing—I lied. I’ve caught the Writer’s Bug- as I call it. It’s a pesky little sickness that’s made its way through my system and refuses to be knocked out. I hate being sick, but this is one illness I wouldn’t mind keeping for the long haul.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

