Insipid Observations

Ramblings of a bored writer

First drafts that read like first drafts

“The first draft of anything is shit”
~Ernest Hemingway

 

I wish someone had told me this a long time ago. First drafts are funny things. It’s amazing how much my thought processes change from day to day. A few weeks ago, I wrote the first chapter of my novel, These Walls Can Talk. I moved on to write the second chapter, third, fourth and so on. Of course, right when I was hitting my stride, my MC decided to play the silent game with me. So I switched up and began working on another novel. Today, I took another look at my first chapter and had to ask myself, “What the heck was I thinking?” Dear Ernest was correct.

So how does one write a first draft that doesn’t read like a first draft?

Practice and patience. Lots of it.

While I’m sure there are people out there that can write an instant best selling novel on their first try (and it actually be good) those are few and far between and I’m definitely not one of them. The only way to get better is to write as much as you can, read as much as you can, and gather as many resources as you can. It may take years, but the end result is worth the hard work.

I’ve only been writing for a year, but have already made tremendous improvements. I can’t wait to see where I’ll be in four or five years. Published or not. Who knows, maybe my first draft will read more like a second draft.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “First drafts that read like first drafts

  1. And script writer/teacher/guru John Truby says the 2nd draft is always worse than the first.

    Guess all we can do is keep on keeping on!

    • Yup. The only real solution is to keep at it and not give up. I think writers themselves are a never-ending WIP. Things can always get better, and usually, they do.

Leave a Reply

