Insipid Observations

Ramblings of a bored writer

Dumbing it Down

Someone told me that I should “dumb down” certain aspects of my writing, because most YA readers wouldn’t be able to connect the dots…

I find that insulting. This person is a YA reader herself. So is she assuming her ‘superior intellect’ isn’t shared by others?

Maybe I’m being overly sensitive? I’m glad she thinks I have some intelligence, but I would like to think that most readers can put A and B together, whether they get C, Z, pizza, kumquats or diapers as their answer is really up to them. Isn’t that the beauty of writing? Some things don’t have to be set in stone. Some things can be left unsaid. Maybe it’s preference, but I don’t like every little thing pointed out to me. It ruins the fun!

And on another note: I’m trying to write a blog entry every day, or at least every other day. I won’t be able to implement this plan until next week but, each day will have a theme. For example:

Sulky Sunday
Meltdown Monday
Teaser Tuesday
Weird Wednesday
Tame Thursday
Friend Friday
Star Saturday

The themes won’t always be the same. I doubt I’ll be able to post daily, but I hope to get at least three short blog entries a week or 1-2 in-depth ones. *crosses fingers*

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Dumbing it Down

  1. Oh I hear you. I had the same thing said to me about Ghosts in the Mirror along with “These characters are too old”.

    I suggest anyone who thinks this way read “The Pigman” by Paul Zindel. While it has the teenagers part, it also deals with adults in some way.

    To me, and I’m just dipping my toes into this genre, it shouldn’t be all about popcorn and bubblegum. I’ll fully admit I targeted kids like my son with this novel I’m writing. He’s on a different level and not into the ‘typical’ teenager book. The only thing I make sure I watch is that it’s not graphic.

    To me, the youth like to see a strong struggle and overcome in a character in their books. They also enjoy things that take them into another world.

    If we don’t push the boundries, we don’t open eyes to new concepts.

    • Glad I’m not the only one with this opinion. People don’t give kids enough credit. They’re more than capable of understanding the deeper meaning of things. And even if they don’t get it off the bat, they may grow to appreciate it at a later date. I don’t even think my story is THAT deep. Though it does deal with some of the darker aspects of life.

Leave a Reply

