Insipid Observations

Ramblings of a bored writer

Teaser Tuesday & NaNo Update

I’m at 19,291 words and I’m supposed to be at 25006 words by midnight tonight. NaNo has been fighting me tooth and nail, but I think I’ll still be able to catch up.  Juggling  job searching, writing and packing is harder than I expected. I was supposed to finish packing yesterday, but instead spent my time writing and researching. Not how I planned on things going, but at least I didn’t waste my time.

In just three days I’m moving 610 miles south to Georgia. Though I’m not looking forward to the ten hour ride, it may give me an opportunity to write and or brainstorm.  Only time will tell!

And without further ado, here is a little teaser from my NaNo project Earthworms.

WARNING: This is the product of NaNoWriMo. It is rough, unedited and maybe even nonsensical. Proceed at the risk of losing brain cells.

Before Brant can get his key in the lock, the door flies open. We slide out of the way as mom comes barreling out of the apartment, oven mitts on and smoking pot in hand. Coughing and sputtering she practically throws the pot on the concrete floor. Eyes eatery, she leans down and takes the lid off. We all jump back, fanning the air around us as smoke billows from the pot. I cover my nose with my shirt collar as the smell of burnt meat invades my lungs.

Brant coughs and shakes his head. “What the hell, mom?”

She glares at him through the thin fog. “Watch your language!” She closes the door before more smoke can enter the apartment. “I had a slight mishap in the kitchen.”

We both stare at her.

She slicks back her hair and purses her lips. “I wanted to surprise you by making teriyaki chicken, but when I tried to glaze the chicken…it kind of caught on fire.” She averts her eyes and fiddles with the oven mitts.

Brant edges around the still smoking pot. “So you bring it outside so the rest of the place can burn down?”

She cuffs him on the back of the head, eyes cutting. “I’m not stupid. I snuffed the fire out with the pot lid. I just didn’t want the apartment to fill with smoke.”

I glance inside the foggy apartment and shake my head. “Well. It’s nice to know that if a fire broke out we’d probably burn to death in our sleep. I guess the concept of a smoke detector and sprinkler system is lost on the fine management of our apartment. That and blinds—which my room is lacking by the way.” I fold my arms and lean against the wall. “Great place Principal Whitaker set us up with.”

Mom sucks air through her teeth. “We can hardly blame it on John. I’ll just have to have a talk with management tomorrow.”

The door across from us opens. An older lady with glaring eyes peeks out.

Mom smiles at her and picks up the pot. “Sorry for the commotion. There’s no need to worry.”

The lady huffs and wrinkles her nose. “Riff-raff.” She glares at the po,t then at us and shuts her door.

I push myself off the wall. “Wasn’t she lovely.”

Mom sighs. “Let’s just go inside.”

I follow her and Brant in, closing the door behind me.

Mom puts the pot in the sink and fills it with cold water. “So much for my surprise dinner. At least the rice and vegetables are okay.”

Brant’s eyes immediately meet mine. Mom and the kitchen do not get along. The chicken burning was likely a godsend. We may have spent the night on the toilet otherwise. She tries. Really she does. That counts for something, but it doesn’t make the end results any less painful or damaging to my taste buds.

She throws the mitts on the counter and glares at the two of us. “And stop with the looks. I used the rice cooker and the vegetable went in the microwave so it should still be edible.”  She lifts her head strides out of the kitchen and into her room.

Brant leans over the counter to inspect the rice and veggies. ”It’s salvageable.”

I stare at the pebble-looking rice and raise my brow.

He ruffles my hair and goes around me into the kitchen. “Trust me. I can work with it. There’s still some leftover chicken. I’ll whip something up.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday & NaNo Update

  1. What an enjoyable excerpt! I’m sorry you didn’t make it to 50k, but it sounds like you’ve got some big fun happening with your book. I look forward to reading it!

Leave a Reply

